GRE Vocab Haiku Dump

Halcyon (adj) calm and peaceful.
Haikus, typically
For the halcyon. But I
Am anything but.

 

Iconoclast (noun) one who attacks or undermines traditional conventions or institutions.
I would rather be
An iconoclast, burning
Down patriarchy

 

Infelicitous (adj) unfortunate, inappropriate.
And all this rotting
Oligarchy, filthy and
Infelicitous.

 

Insipid (adj) without taste or flavor; lacking in spirit; bland.
I find vanilla
So insipid. I prefer
Some good ol’ bondage.

 

Mendacity (noun) the condition of being untruthful; dishonesty.
Demand politics
Leave behind its so cloying
Harsh mendacity.

 

Obdurate (adj) unyielding; hard-hearted; intractable.
Call me obdurate.
I pick and choose with whom I
Share my empathy.

 

Obsequious (adj) exhibiting a fawning attentiveness.
The fawn forgets his
Obsequious mother doe
Tucked safely away.

 

Occlude (verb) to obstruct or block.
These days, just one thing
Republicans are good at:
Occluding reason.

 

Opprobrium (noun) disgrace; contempt; scorn.
Fallen into sour
Opprobrium, ostracized.
Disdained, forsaken.

 

Penury (noun) poverty; destitution.
Despite it all we
Are in states of penury.
Spare a moment, please?

 

Pith (noun) essential or central part.
Pith, I know you from
Botany. Who know you were
Such centrality?

 

Pithy (adj) precise and brief.
You cut to the quick.
Remove gratuitousness.
Pithy, to the point.

 

Polemical (adj) controversial; argumentative.
You would rather be
Polemical than thinking.
Standing still.
No forward movement.

(Not a haiku, I know, but I didn’t want to compromise on this one for a few syllables so I made an exception.)

 

Prodigal (adj) recklessly wasteful; profuse; lavish.
Prodigal son he
Was not because he returned.
He was wasteful first.

 

Querulous (adj) prone to complaining or grumbling; peevish.
A querulous man
Talks big and loudly but shies
From a true quarrel.

 

Salubrious (adj) promoting health or well-being.
Let us all become
Salubrious, making well
Our minds and bodies.

 

Specious (adj) seeming true, but actually being fallacious; misleadingly attractive.
Your politics are
Specious. Your words like sea snakes.
Slippery, tricky.

 

As you probably noticed, I started getting tired of writing these. But I needed to study, so I wrote them. Now I have taken the GREs and I am getting quite tired of posting these (I can only imagine you must be quite tired of seeing them) so I am going to finish them up with a couple “haiku dumps.”

Enjoy them while they last!

Or don’t. You’re autonomous. Do what you want.

Related:
GRE Vocab Haikus (11)
GRE Vocab Haiku (10)
GRE Vocab Haiku (9)

2 thoughts on “GRE Vocab Haiku Dump

Leave a Reply

