Every Girl Should Have a Poem Written For Her (2)

img_20160906_203144921.jpg
Elderly Woman with Dementia

Into the room I stride
Beautiful
A blushing bride.
Still I remember
The feel of my white lace gown
On my skin:
I can still feel
The thin white veil
Clipped into my
Long thick hair.
I can still smell
The powder sugar frosting
And taste the crumbs
Of my soft yellow
Wedding cake
Clinging to my lips.
The scent of my husband’s cologne
The sound of the violin
Playing the wedding march
And my sister stifling
Her tears of joy for me
Upon my wedding day—
This man beside me
He has my husband’s eyes
He wears the same cologne.
Is this…
Oh, can it be?

Related:

Every Girl Should Have a Poem Written for Her (intro)

Every Girl Should Have a Poem Written For Them (1)

2 thoughts on “Every Girl Should Have a Poem Written For Her (2)

Leave a Reply

