Every Girl Should Have a Poem Written for Her (4)

wp-1473219289167.jpeg

A_____ A________

We lust for love

These days

We thirst to live

I did

Against the crushing tide

I lived

Chained, kept, un-indulged

A woman in

Yellow wall paper

Escaping only when

The darkness fell

For love

For life

No care

Aware…

Adulteress.

WHO GIVES A FUCK?

He threatened death

To himself

I loved

Another

Whose words

More tender were—

“If wishes were fishes”

Taught me

To climb

I’ve listed for love

I’ve lusted for life

I’ve slipped myself free

To catch a ride on the back

Of silvery wishing fishes.

 

Okay, maybe I didn’t actually get the formatting right. Or at least I didn’t get it perfect. It forces me to add weird spacing if I want to format the poem correctly, so I guess we get to tolerate the weird spacing together. 😦

Related:

Every Girl Should Have a Poem Written for Her (intro)

Every Girl Should Have a Poem Written For Them (1)

Every Girl Should Have a Poem Written For Her (2)

 

3 thoughts on “Every Girl Should Have a Poem Written for Her (4)

Leave a Reply

